West 39 MHA Spring AGM Meeting Minutes

May 15, 2023

Thorsby Rec Centre Meeting Room

<u>Attendance In Person</u>: Kaz Thomas, Jane Mercier, Shawn Seawright, Edgardo Montgomery, Erin Pawlick, Riley Pawlick, Bobbie-Lee Bullock, Tiffany Torkelson, Cory Senio, Sherri Morrissey, Chad Peterson, Durwin Gendron, Chris Pinni, Joelene Peterson

<u>Attendance On-Line:</u> Alyssa Kshyk, Clayton Ruhmor, Cheri Busenius, Heather Cygan, Jennifer Ball, Jesse McClean, Julie Kempf, Julie Velasquez, Kayla Sarvas, Rob McLellan, Shayne Horn, Ryan Taves

7:04 Corey Called meeting to order.

Vote Results:

- 73 Votes 100% Yes Players playing in association and executive members voted.

Background on West 39 MHA and what's left to make it official in Service AB and Hockey AB

-West 39 was picked as the most relevant name to represent the 3 merged associations (Warburg, Thorsby and Calmar) as a named was needed to make the new association official in-service Alberta. Will still be picking the name for the team. West 39 has been submitted and approved in Nuance.

Explanation of Executive Positions and the Split between the Communities

- will keep fair to have equal representation on the board between the three communities.
- President doesn't sit on any board, VP from each community, Registrar, Treasurer and Secretary, from each community. Minimum 3 from each community for the directors. VP will support the more demanding roles on the board (Registrar, Treasurer, Ice, etc.) No Terms annual voting at AGM.

Nominations for the following positions:

1. Executive Directors, which shall also be deemed to be officers of the MHA or the purposes of the ACT, all with the exception of the President shall be equally from each local community and shall sit on their local board in addition; with the following positions:

President – Durwin Gendron nominates Chad Peterson, Jane Mercier seconds this. No other nominations, Chad Peterson accepts and awarded President

VP Calmar – Edgardo Montgomery Nominates Durwin Gendron, Shawn Seawright seconds this. No other nominations, Durwin Gendron accepts and awarded Vice President.

VP Thorsby – Cory Senio Nominates Sherri Morrissey, Chad Peterson seconds this. No other nominations, Sherri Morrissey accepts and awarded Vice President

VP Warburg - Vacant

Registrar – Vacant (holding for Warbug)

Treasurer – Sherri Morrissey Nominates Jesse McLean, Cory Senio seconds this. No other nominations, Jesse accepts and awarded Treasurer

Secretary – Jane Mercier nominates Kaz Thomas for Secretary, Edgardo Montgomery seconds this. No other nominations, Kaz Thomas accepts and awarded Secretary.

2. Directors Nominations:

Referee Coordinator – Vacant (Holding for Warbug)

Ice Coordinator – Sherri Morrissey nominates Cory Senio, Chris Pinni seconds this. No other nominations, Cory Senio accepts and awarded Ice Coordinator.

Fundraising Coordinator – Chad Peterson nominates Jennifer Ball, Julie Velasquez seconds this. No other nominations, Jennifer Ball accepts and awarded Fundraising Coordinator.

Equipment Coordinator – Durwin Gendron nominates Erin Pawlick, Edgardo Montgomery seconds this. No other nominations, Erin Pawlick accepts and awarded Equipment Coordinator.

Media and Communications Coordinator – Tiffany Torkelson nominates Kayla Sarvas, Sherri Morrossey seconds this. No other nominations, Kayla Sarvas accepts and awarded Media and Communications Manager.

League Representative – Jennifer Ball nominates Shane Horn, Chad Peterson seconds this. No other nominations, Shane Horn accepts and awarded League Representative.

Hockey Alberta Representative – Sherri Morrissey nominates Jane Mercier for Hockey Alberta Representative, Durwin Gendron seconds this. Jane Mercier accepts and awarded Hockey Alberta Representative.

Coach/Manager Coordinator – Durwin Gendron nominates Shawn Seawright, Jane Mercier seconds this. Shawn Seawright accepts and awarded Coach/Manage Coordinator.

Safety Coordinator – Tiffany Torkelson nominates Alyssa Kshyk as Safety Coordinator, Sherri Morrissey seconds this. Alyssa Kshyk accepts and awarded Safety Coordinator.

Cory makes motion to leave Registrar and Referee Coordinator positions open for Warburg Members who were unable to attend meeting until Friday May 19 at 8:00. After that they will be open to the other association members. Chad seconds this, all agreed.

Additional Items discussed at meeting:

Need PO Box for association – Sherri called the Thorsby Post Office and can add West 39 onto the Thorsby Minor Hockey PO Box, and can use the Thorsby Rec Centre as the physical address. Chad makes motion to share the PO Box with Thorsby Minor Hockey. Edgardo seconds this motion. Mailing address will be PO Box 156 Thorsby AB, TOC 2PO.

Need to get the positions filled and submit paperwork for the society. Need to figure out boundaries.

Need to figure out Jerseys and Logos, will wait until we have new Jerseys in hand to release old Jerseys.

Registration Kick off mid-June, Need new website. Sherri will look into website. Will wait till approved and switched with Hockey Alberta for the new Facebook Page.

Board will come up with a few names logo and present to the public. No changes to u7/u9 set up as previous year. Intent is always to keep u7 at their home rink, unless necessary

Date of Next Meeting:

May 28th 7:00 - at Thorsby Rec Centre.

Adjournment:

Edgardo makes a motion to adjourn at 8:01 Chris Pinni seconds this.